- spodesabode.com archive

Random Phrase: Taking working from home a little too literally...


Read Me First!

This is the Spode's Abode archive. The old articles and forum have been kept here purely for historical purposes.

This section of the site is not kept up to date and there is no guarantee that all portions of the site transferred to this sub-domain intact.

Please visit the new site!



FAQFAQ SearchSearch MemberlistMemberlist UsergroupsUsergroups RegisterRegister ProfileProfile Log in to check your private messagesLog in to check your private messages Log inLog in

Wireless PCMCIA card in Gentoo

 
Post new topic   Reply to topic    Spode's Abode Forum Index -> Operating Systems
View previous topic :: View next topic  
Author Message
Mike



Joined: 05 Apr 2003
Posts: 1037
Location: Southampton, UK

PostPosted: Mon Oct 25, 2004 11:03 pm    Post subject: Wireless PCMCIA card in Gentoo Reply with quote

It's been a long time, but i need help....

Hello from Gentoo! It's been a long a tiresome road, but I've got X-Server up and running with a net connection from a 20m cat5 cable.

Ho hum - which is why I need to set up my wireless networking stuff. Now, I'm pretty sure I've got all the relevant modules compiled into the kernel, including the wireless networking support for linux and my card (which I'm pretty sure uses the orinoco_cs.o driver - it's a Compaq WL110 PCMCIA card)

I've emerged wireless-tools and setting up wireless.opts in /etc/pcmcia/ i get the following output from iwconfig:

IEEE 802.11-DS ESSID:"conexant" Nickname:"gentoomike"
Mode: "Managed" Frequency:2.457 GHz Access Point: 00:00:00:00:00:00
Bit Rate: 11 Mb/s Tx-Power=15dBm Sensitivity:1/3
Encryption key:CA45-9278-5B00-0000-0000-0000-00
Power Management:off
Link Quality=0/92 Signal Level=134/153 Noise level=134/153
Rx Invalid nwid:0 Rx invalid crypt:0 Rx invalid frag:0
Tx excessive retries:0 Invalid misc:0 Missed beacon:0

And it's obviously not working. But I don't see how. The router that I've got it connecting to has the SSID as conexant. The encryption key is 128bit, which the router insists is a 64bit key with lots of zeros on the end.

Am I missing something obvious? I know the card can work in Linux - I had in working in RedHell 9.0 about 4 days ago.

Any suggestions would be greatly appreciated. Do you need any more info? Using kernel 2.4.25-gentoo-r1. pcmcia-cs is installed, the green light is on the wireless card showing there is power.

On another side note, I've installed FireFox on the machine, but whenever I start it (which at the moment is from xterm) it never keeps the same settings from the previous time I ran it. Which can be a bit annoying. Any suggestions there?

Someone help me!

_________________
Mike Lewis
On a long an arduous journey to the middle
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message Visit poster's website MSN Messenger
matty c



Joined: 03 Jul 2003
Posts: 1191
Location: NW London, UK

PostPosted: Mon Oct 25, 2004 11:26 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

I would suggest removing as many complexities as possible to help, just like debugging code; temporarily get rid of the encryption key for instance, just to make sure that it isn't that.
_________________
"I like my coffee like my women."
"Sure you wanna pay $75 for a cup of coffee?"
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message MSN Messenger
ClubBarf



Joined: 26 Apr 2003
Posts: 2135
Location: London, UK

PostPosted: Tue Oct 26, 2004 12:06 am    Post subject: Reply with quote

Normally I would have something usefull to say, but unfortunately I've never set up wifi on linux, so I know sweet fanny adams about it. I will, however, say this: Don't get too attatched to gentoo. After emerge -uD world has broken multiple things for the 4th time in a month, you'll start looking at your redhat CD's with longing. I wish this wasn't so - I soooooooooo wanted gentoo to be the be all and end all of Linux distro's.

You might have better luck than I did. I just think Gentoo needs time to mature - but Debian's got it's own compiled from source thing going on - so I wonder which will mature first?

_________________
Everything is possible except skiing through revolving doors
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message Visit poster's website AIM Address Yahoo Messenger MSN Messenger
krazyivan
Administrator


Joined: 06 May 2003
Posts: 2751
Location: Texas USA

PostPosted: Tue Oct 26, 2004 12:17 am    Post subject: Reply with quote

Hey Mike! How are you doing? What happened to piratesoft? I have nothing useful to say so this thread hijack is over.
_________________
-::Project Ground Zero::-
All images used in my posts are Copyrighted unless otherwise noted. You agree to pay me the amount of $5,000 USD if you use my images without my permission.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message Visit poster's website MSN Messenger
Mike



Joined: 05 Apr 2003
Posts: 1037
Location: Southampton, UK

PostPosted: Tue Oct 26, 2004 9:31 am    Post subject: Reply with quote

matty c wrote:
I would suggest removing as many complexities as possible to help, just like debugging code; temporarily get rid of the encryption key for instance, just to make sure that it isn't that.


removing the key would be a sure fire way of the connection not working - i need it to connect to the router.

ClubBarf wrote:
Normally I would have something usefull to say, but unfortunately I've never set up wifi on linux, so I know sweet fanny adams about it. I will, however, say this: Don't get too attatched to gentoo. After emerge -uD world has broken multiple things for the 4th time in a month, you'll start looking at your redhat CD's with longing. I wish this wasn't so - I soooooooooo wanted gentoo to be the be all and end all of Linux distro's.

You might have better luck than I did. I just think Gentoo needs time to mature - but Debian's got it's own compiled from source thing going on - so I wonder which will mature first?


no probs so far - really liking it actually. just needed something faster than redhat on my 650MHz lappie.....

KrazyIvan wrote:
Hey Mike! How are you doing? What happened to piratesoft?


Sup dude..... I'm good how are you? PirateSoftware died when I couldn't be bothered to update it anymore - then some american company hijacked the domain name Sad



Does kaitain still post on here? Maybe he could shed some light?

_________________
Mike Lewis
On a long an arduous journey to the middle
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message Visit poster's website MSN Messenger
Mike



Joined: 05 Apr 2003
Posts: 1037
Location: Southampton, UK

PostPosted: Tue Oct 26, 2004 9:46 am    Post subject: Reply with quote

hmmm, i think i see the problem - the router is set up on channel 6 (2.437GHz I believe) whereas my card won't deviate from channel 10 (2.457GHz) whilst typing iwconfig eth1 freq 2.437G it comes up with an error saying it's not supported by the card, but iwlist channel brings up all the available channels that are apparently used by the card.

update in module methinks?

_________________
Mike Lewis
On a long an arduous journey to the middle
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message Visit poster's website MSN Messenger
Lorna



Joined: 04 Apr 2003
Posts: 1280

PostPosted: Tue Oct 26, 2004 10:54 am    Post subject: Reply with quote

Mike wrote:

Does kaitain still post on here? Maybe he could shed some light?
He probably could, think I vaguely remember him messing around with Gentoo and wifi a while back. Head on over to AOA and pm him.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message Send e-mail MSN Messenger
Spode
Administrator


Joined: 04 Apr 2003
Posts: 4581
Location: Tonbridge, Kent

PostPosted: Tue Oct 26, 2004 12:06 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

Suggestion. Change your router settings? Turn off WEP and change the channel to 10. If you can get it working like this, then work on it from there.

Good to hear from you Mike.

_________________
"No man should outlive his fictional wizard!" - Homer Simpson

http://www.thinkbikes.com
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message Visit poster's website MSN Messenger
Mike



Joined: 05 Apr 2003
Posts: 1037
Location: Southampton, UK

PostPosted: Tue Oct 26, 2004 12:08 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

yeah - changed the channel to 10 - didn't do a thing....

i would turn off the WEP, but that would annoy the 4 other people using the internet at the same time!

and good to see your sexy self in hexus spode Smile

_________________
Mike Lewis
On a long an arduous journey to the middle
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message Visit poster's website MSN Messenger
Mike



Joined: 05 Apr 2003
Posts: 1037
Location: Southampton, UK

PostPosted: Tue Oct 26, 2004 12:09 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

Lorna wrote:
Mike wrote:

Does kaitain still post on here? Maybe he could shed some light?
He probably could, think I vaguely remember him messing around with Gentoo and wifi a while back. Head on over to AOA and pm him.


lorna! long time no speak. i see you have a column on bit-tech now Smile how did they manage to hold you down for a photo? Very Happy good first feature though... well done

not looking for any other columnists are they? Wink

_________________
Mike Lewis
On a long an arduous journey to the middle
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message Visit poster's website MSN Messenger
Lorna



Joined: 04 Apr 2003
Posts: 1280

PostPosted: Tue Oct 26, 2004 7:02 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

It's not yet confirmed whether or not I'll be writing a regular column for Bit-tech, so best consider it a one off for now. I still h8 that photo. Sad
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message Send e-mail MSN Messenger
Spode
Administrator


Joined: 04 Apr 2003
Posts: 4581
Location: Tonbridge, Kent

PostPosted: Tue Oct 26, 2004 7:41 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

Quote:
and good to see your sexy self in hexus spode


WHAT?? That's the last place I see myself. Beating Hexus in front of an audience on the other hand.....

Quote:
not looking for any other columnists are they?


What, so we're not good enough for your column then? Sad

_________________
"No man should outlive his fictional wizard!" - Homer Simpson

http://www.thinkbikes.com
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message Visit poster's website MSN Messenger
Mike



Joined: 05 Apr 2003
Posts: 1037
Location: Southampton, UK

PostPosted: Wed Oct 27, 2004 12:24 am    Post subject: Reply with quote

i was only after bit-tech spode because they produce sexy photos.....

if you can do the same...... Smile

_________________
Mike Lewis
On a long an arduous journey to the middle
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message Visit poster's website MSN Messenger
Spode
Administrator


Joined: 04 Apr 2003
Posts: 4581
Location: Tonbridge, Kent

PostPosted: Wed Oct 27, 2004 12:44 am    Post subject: Reply with quote

You're saying you want a sexy photo of yourself?
_________________
"No man should outlive his fictional wizard!" - Homer Simpson

http://www.thinkbikes.com
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message Visit poster's website MSN Messenger
Mike



Joined: 05 Apr 2003
Posts: 1037
Location: Southampton, UK

PostPosted: Wed Oct 27, 2004 7:58 am    Post subject: Reply with quote

only next to the articles.....

http://www.bit-tech.net/images/teamcol/8.jpg

makes those articles just so much better dude....

_________________
Mike Lewis
On a long an arduous journey to the middle
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message Visit poster's website MSN Messenger
Mike



Joined: 05 Apr 2003
Posts: 1037
Location: Southampton, UK

PostPosted: Wed Oct 27, 2004 10:57 am    Post subject: Reply with quote

anyhoo, back to the main subject - just tried turning off the encryption on the router, still can't get the card to communicate. I'm beginning to think the driver module is either out of date or is just the wrong one.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message Visit poster's website MSN Messenger
Mike



Joined: 05 Apr 2003
Posts: 1037
Location: Southampton, UK

PostPosted: Wed Oct 27, 2004 10:43 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

oh deary me.....

do you wanna know what was wrong with it?

'ifconfig eth1 up
dhcpcd eth1'

working!!!!! 3 days of constant fiddling, finally works.

The lesson I learnt: if it doesn't work - fiddle and fiddle some more!

_________________
Mike Lewis
On a long an arduous journey to the middle
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message Visit poster's website MSN Messenger
Display posts from previous:   
Post new topic   Reply to topic    Spode's Abode Forum Index -> Operating Systems All times are GMT
Page 1 of 1

 
Jump to:  
You cannot post new topics in this forum
You cannot reply to topics in this forum
You cannot edit your posts in this forum
You cannot delete your posts in this forum
You cannot vote in polls in this forum
You cannot attach files in this forum
You cannot download files in this forum


Powered by phpBB © 2001, 2005 phpBB Group


Copyright Andrew Miller
Please read our disclaimer

Search the site:

Random

Optical Mouse IR LED Mod